marc-wieland-i2pTp9d9mOw-unsplash.jpg

Northcape 4000

JULY 2021
4,500 km

MAT_6976.jpg
MAT_6079.jpg

"Stéven Le Hyaric breaks the record for the NorthCape4000 ultra endurance race

 

From Lac de Garde in Rovereto, Italy, via Poland, to the North Cape in Norway, Stéven Le Hyaric crisscrossed eleven European countries by bike during his new challenge: the NorthCape4000 ultra endurance race. For ten days, the adventurer traveled in total autonomy with an average of 448 kilometers of saddle per day. A certain daily rigor which allowed him to arrive first in the race and to crush the previous record for the event by nearly 24 hours.

A difficult start

If the Frenchman positions himself among the top 5 from the first kilometers, he quickly faces certain difficulties. “At the start of the route, in Italy, I got really hot,” says the cyclist. The first day I was very sick and thought it was the end for me. But, a small internal voice kept telling me not to stop and to continue to catch up. “Riding as many kilometers as possible then becomes the main strategy for Stéven, who only slept “what is necessary” to stay in the running.

It was during the long and deserted Finnish crossing that the Ile-de-France competitor finally regained the advantage. “One evening, it was very hard for everyone, remembers Stéven, who for his part refused to be defeated. I decided to indulge myself and stop at a small fast food restaurant to eat a pizza. Then I left and rode non-stop all night. “As time went by, the cyclist saw the beacons of his competitors stop, which allowed him to regain control of the race.

A journey under the sign of autonomy

In preparing for the race, Le Hyaric had equipped himself to sleep under the stars and face the harsh temperatures of the north. His saddle bag was loaded with shorts, jersey, pairs of socks, and a down jacket - noticeably missing was a tent because “it would have weighed me down,” he explains. My bike already weighed over twenty kilos. The idea was not to waste too much time during meal breaks, to avoid technical problems, and to have everything I needed with me. "

"It's not easy to ride at night and resist"

Tired, some of his competitors crack up after a few days and decide to sleep in a hotel. “At the beginning, the Germans were stronger physically. But those who left too quickly began to lose power after 1,000 kilometers. The Frenchman rests only 40 minutes and resumes his route. “It's not easy to ride at night and resist,” he says. But I knew how to listen to my body and see when I was not sleepy. "

Excited to ride to the North Cape, in Norway, the cyclist maintains an iron motivation: “During the last 200 kilometers, I expected only one thing: to cross Lofoten with the midnight sun."  A permanent sun allowed him to ride the final 48 hours non-stop and complete a day of 700 kilometers. After 10 days and pedaling 4480 kilometers, Le Hyaric is the first to cross the finish line in Norway and smashes the previous race record.

In the coming months, the extreme adventurer hopes to travel to the Simpson deserts in Australia and Gobi deserts in Mongolia, depending on the evolution of the health situation. “I have lots of projects planned for the future. It's also possible that I'll go near the pole of the Arctic Circle again to test myself, he hopes. You really shouldn't hesitate to follow your dreams ... dreams do come true ... be proud of yourself. "

- The Team 

https://www.lequipe.fr/Velo-mag/Stories/Actualites/Steven-le-hyaric-bat-le-record-de-la-course-d-ultra-endurance-northcape4000/1278143 

THE RACE

 

4,500 kilometers that connects Lago di Garda in Italy and the North Cape of Norway.

A bicycle race without assistance, to connect the North Pole as quickly as possible through checkpoints:

Lago di Garda: departure

Balaton: CP 1

Krakow: CP 2

Riga: CP 3

Rovaniemi: CP 4

North Pole: arrival

hardware partners

ttannsrllrg2oc5xt55l.webp
Capture d’écran 2019-02-20 à 21.17.25.pn
CUMULUS_Logo_RGB_horz_Grayscale_2.png
qbS5ZSuR.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-05-14 à 10.49.32 AM
logo.png
5dd70cafe4b046d463210270.jpg
Textured Full Logo.png
download-2.png
partenaire steven le hyaric urge
image_dtvision.png
Capture d’écran 2021-05-06 à 4.48.42 PM.
logo-grey.jpg

Patrons

unnamed.jpg

MEDIA partners

Unknown.png
Capture d’écran 2019-02-12 à 19_24_40_pn

The associations that I support

United Nations Children's Fund UNICEF Lo
ab645-black-jolly-roger-logo.png.webp
Unknown.jpeg
logo-cingomma.png
Brand REMEDEUS.png
2124890.jpg
logo_kinomap.png

marc-wieland-i2pTp9d9mOw-unsplash.jpg

Northcape 4000

JUILLET 2021
4 500 km

MAT_6976.jpg
MAT_6079.jpg

"Stéven Le Hyaric bat le record de la course d'ultra endurance NorthCape4000

 

Du lac de Garde à Rovereto en Italie, en passant par la Pologne, jusqu'au Cap Nord, Stéven Le Hyaric a sillonné onze pays européens à vélo lors de son nouveau challenge : la course d'ultra endurance NorthCape4000. Pendant dix jours, l'aventurier s'est déplacé en totale autonomie avec une moyenne de 448 kilomètres de selle par jour. Une certaine rigueur quotidienne qui lui a permis d'arriver le premier de la course et d'écraser le précédent record de l'épreuve de près de 24h.

Un départ difficile

Si le Français se positionne parmi le top 5 dès les premiers kilomètres, il se confronte rapidement à certaines difficultés. « Au début du parcours, en Italie, j'ai pris un vrai coup de chaud, raconte le cycliste. Le premier jour, j'ai été très malade et je pensais que c'était la fin pour moi. Mais, une petite voix interne me répétait de ne pas m'arrêter et de continuer pour rattraper mon retard. » Rouler le plus de kilomètres possible devient alors la stratégie principale de Stéven, qui ne dormait que « le nécessaire » pour rester en lice.

C'est lors de la longue et déserte traversée finlandaise, que le Francilien récupère finalement l'avantage. « Un soir, c'était très dur pour tout le monde, se remémore Stéven, qui de son côté refuse de se laisser abattre. J'ai décidé de me faire plaisir et m'arrêter dans un petit fast-food pour manger une pizza. Ensuite, je suis reparti et j'ai roulé non-stop toute la nuit. » Au fur et à mesure, le cycliste voit alors les balises de ses concurrents s'arrêter, ce qui lui permet de reprendre la main sur le circuit.

Un voyage sous le signe de l'autonomie

En préparant la course, Le Hyaric s'était équipé en conséquence pour dormir à la belle étoile et affronter les rudes températures du nord. Cuissards, maillot, paires de chaussettes, doudoune et duvet composaient son trousseau, à l'exception d'une tente. « Cela m'aurait alourdi, explique-t-il. Mon vélo pesait déjà plus de vingt kilos. L'idée, c'était de ne pas perdre trop de temps lors des pauses repas ou des problèmes techniques et d'avoir tout le nécessaire avec moi. »

« Ce n'est pas facile de rouler la nuit et de résister »

Fatigués, certains de ses concurrents craquent au bout de quelques jours et décident de dormir à l'hôtel. « Au début, les Allemands ont été plus forts physiquement. Mais ceux partis trop vite ont commencé à ne plus en pouvoir au bout de 1 000 kilomètres. » Le Français, lui, se repose seulement 40 minutes et trace sa route. « Ce n'est pas facile de rouler la nuit et de résister », confie-t-il. Mais j'ai su écouter mon corps et voir lorsque je n'avais pas sommeil. »

Excité de rouler jusqu'au Cap Nord, en Norvège, le cycliste conserve une motivation de fer : « Lors des 200 derniers kilomètres, je n'attendais qu'une seule chose : traverser les Lofoten avec le soleil de minuit. » Un soleil permanent qui lui permet de rouler non-stop durant les dernières 48h et réaliser une journée de 700 kilomètres à vélo. Après 10 jours et 4480 kilomètres parcourus, Le Hyaric est le premier à franchir la ligne d'arrivée en Norvège et pulvérise le précédent record de la course.

Dans les prochains mois, l'aventurier de l'extrême espère se rendre aux déserts de Simpson en Australie et de Gobie en Mongolie, selon l'évolution de la situation sanitaire. « J'ai plein de projets prévus pour la suite. C'est également possible que j'aille de nouveau près du pôle du cercle arctique pour me tester, espère-t-il. Il ne faut vraiment pas hésiter à aller au bout de ses rêves, se réaliser et être fier de soi. »

- L'Équipe 

https://www.lequipe.fr/Velo-mag/Stories/Actualites/Steven-le-hyaric-bat-le-record-de-la-course-d-ultra-endurance-northcape4000/1278143 

La COURSE

 

4 500 kilomètres pour relier le Lac Garda et le Cap Nord.

Une course à vélo sans assistance, pour relier le pôle Nord le plus rapidement possible en passant par des checkpoints :

Lac Garda : départ

Balaton : CP 1

Krakow : CP 2

Riga : CP 3

Rovaniemi : CP 4

Pôle Nord : arrivée

partenaires matériel

ttannsrllrg2oc5xt55l.webp
Capture d’écran 2019-02-20 à 21.17.25.pn
CUMULUS_Logo_RGB_horz_Grayscale_2.png
logo.png
5dd70cafe4b046d463210270.jpg
Textured Full Logo.png
download-2.png
partenaire steven le hyaric urge
image_dtvision.png
Capture d’écran 2021-05-06 à 4.48.42 PM.
logo-grey.jpg

Mécènes

unnamed.jpg

partenaires MÉDIAS

Unknown.png
Capture d’écran 2019-02-12 à 19_24_40_pn

Les associations que je soutiens

United Nations Children's Fund UNICEF Lo
ab645-black-jolly-roger-logo.png.webp
Unknown.jpeg
logo-cingomma.png
Brand REMEDEUS.png
2124890.jpg