1500x500 (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2020-03-15 at 11.09.26.jp

THE FIGURES OF LAKE BAIKAL

500 km in 8 days

It is the largest unfrozen freshwater reserve on the planet (20%), home to 2,600 animal and plant species. It has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1996.

• Area: 31,722 km2, length: 636 km and width: 80 km.

• The oldest lake: 25 million years old and the deepest 1642 meters.

• Water volume: 23,000 km3, ie 260 times Lake Geneva.

• Visibility: up to 40 meters deep.

• Temperatures: between -10° C and -30° C during the winter period.

• Islands: 22 islands, the largest of which is Olkhon Island.

• Population: 50,000 people live on the lake shore.

• Active area: more than 100 earthquakes every year

Our adventure

Stéven Le Hyaric and Perrine Fages embarked on a bicycle crossing of the frozen Siberian lake just before the confinement. Magic and adventures in the kingdom of his majesty Baikal.  The duo dreamed of accomplishing this journey in about a week, completely without assistance. Setting performance goals is still a reflex for these two athletes.

Lake Baikal cannot be tamed. But the adventurers never gave up and traveled about 500 kilometers (out of the 636 originally planned) and found the adventure they were coming for.

Every year, for 5-6 months, a thick layer of ice covers the lake and cracks appear on its shiny surface. Alchemy of materials and lights. “It's surprising, Lake Baikal. It is adventure in its purest form. There is ice, cold. It is powerful. We are isolated. But it was a real privilege to be on this lake, ”says Stéven.

Her sidekick Perrine, who has accumulated performances in several ultra-endurance disciplines (she notably holds the female record in extreme triathlon, the Enduroman), appreciates “off” adventures. An expatriate in Qatar for 5 years, this lawyer appreciates sporting challenges of all kinds, in the desert, in the mountains or in the cold, either while running or on her bike.  There is only one condition: never be sure of getting to the end of the ordeal.

This young forty-something, who was making her fourth trip to Russia, could not help but fall under the spell of Baikal. “I really recommend this place. It's beautiful, she raves. One morning, I opened the tent: I admired the mountains, the color of the sky and its reflection on the lake. It was just beautiful. Spending time on the lake, learning, making mistakes, that's what we experienced. We will have to go back there in better conditions, with less snow and no time constraints ”. Lake Baikal captivates with its beauty, energy and unique atmosphere. It is the pride of the Russians. It is the object of all covetousness. However, adventurers rarely compete on a bicycle.

Ten years after Sylvain Tesson's hermit experience, the duo embarks on this completely frosty project. After 2 high altitude adventures in 2019, these ultra-cyclists want to rub shoulders with the cold. It is Perrine who suggests the project to her friend. In full preparation for his Project 666 (crossing the 6 hardest deserts in the world, on 6 continents, in 6 months by bike), the idea immediately seduced the former cyclist: discover Russia, measure his physical condition in the cold and test his equipment before his expedition to Antarctica. The Baikal mission is born. Perrine has just returned from an ultra-trail in Lapland (the Rovaniemi 150) where, hindered by a knee injury, she had to give up. “I loved the experience and wanted to get back to the cold. After Lapland, I did not see myself doing this Baikal adventure alone. Nature is harsh on the lake. Each expedition is very committed. A journey that is never without risks (seracs, cracks) nor without fear. Opting for a north-south route, the team was taken to the end of the lake for an early departure the next day. For locals, this route is not the best option because of the snow. As a signal, on the first day, the adventurers turn around to choose a better route.

On this path, Stéven is hit by a car. There is a lot of traffic on this part of the lake where you can move around freely. A big fright at the outset! Material damage which requires a return to the hotel in Severobaïkalsk. A new start is taken this time on the right side of the lake. Every day, Stéven and Perrine get lost, wander off in search of a perfect route that does not exist. The major obstacle is this fresh and abundant snow which slows down their progress.

The blocks of ice get in their way. On the material side, Stéven has a fatbike (in aluminum) with studded tires dragging a pulka (transport sled) with a very heavy load. Perrine chose an ultra light carbon mountain bike with minimalist equipment. Different choices. “Physically, it was more involved for Stéven. I always start very light. With my mountain bike, I struggled in the snow, it was very tiring but I always believed in the success of our challenge. We knew that when we reached the ice, we could go 300 kilometers without sleeping. " The conditions are far from ideal for this crossing by bike. The course is difficult and the pleasure absent. The 2 cyclists turn around. Then there is this moment out of time when the duo take refuge in the hut of a fisherman who offers them hospitality. Initially, they want to take a short break but stay for more than 20 hours! "An incredible moment, a moment of life" remembers Perrine.

The adventure changes. At this moment, it is obvious: we must move forward and get out of this snow. The performance objective becomes secondary. They then call for help. "There is always something good in giving up" says Stéven, disappointed to face his first failure. They refuse to give up in the middle of the lake. With the help of a vehicle, they advance 200 kilometers to the island of Olkhon. The last 2 days are unforgettable with great sensations on the ice despite a very strong wind.

The kilometers go by to the end of the lake in an atmosphere of end of adventure. Tensions, fears, emotions, there were a lot of them during these 8 days. What to strengthen even a little more this friendship which binds them.

“With each adventure, we don't see things the same way anymore ”I like to go fast on a bike, Perrine is more in contemplation. We don't have the same characters. It is rigorous, a little more in control and I work more by feeling."  We form a complementary duo, ”emphasizes Stéven. Everyone finds their story on Lake Baikal or starts one.

Stéven and Perrine are very keen to go back and give themselves more time to set off again in better conditions and succeed in this challenge in total autonomy! “As soon as I can, I will try the adventure again. I will have my revenge” promises Stéven. The magnetism of the lake always catches up with its adventurers.

Source - MK Sport

THEY ARE TALKING :

STAGE 2

DAKARACTU

INTERVIEW

THE SMALL NEWSPAPER

INTERVIEW

BFM TV

INTERVIEW

ULTRA TALK

PODCAST

The Parisian

HE DID IT !

SENEPLUS

THE EXPLOIT

FRANCE INFO

INSTANT T

THE PARISIAN

NEW

CRAZY CHALLENGE

BOURLINGUEZ

PODCAST

Le Figaro

INTERVIEW

KIRINAPOST

NEWS

EUROPE 1

INTERVIEW

FRANCE BLUE

CONNECTING PARIS TO DAKAR

Baikal mission

This Baikal Mission adventure is an introduction to an expedition to cross 6 of the most hostile deserts in the world: the 666 Project. Baikal is not one of the 6 deserts, it is only as we say in mountaineering "the approach". It introduces one of its key values: desertification.

​​

The climate challenge is before us, impossible to hide. The meaning of this project, well beyond its unprecedented character since it will be a world first, is to awaken awareness of what humanity is about to experience as a result of climate change: desertification.

​​

By going to experience and cross some of the most demanding deserts on the planet, everyone will be able to see the changes underway, to come, the consequences on nature and the effects on the human body.

666 for the 6 hardest deserts in the world on 6 continents in 6 months

6 deserts / 6 continents / 6 x 1 month.

666 is also a nod to what some consider to be the number of Hell, the mark of the beast. A wink to get involved in my own way for the planet and against climate change which is already well underway.

Showing what life is like in the deserts and the difficulties of survival will be the common thread of this project. What better way for an adventurer than to show and explore the reality on the ground to transmit a few fragments.​​

hardware partners

Garmin-logo.jpg
Capture d’écran 2019-02-20 à 21.17.25.pn
1598518292697.jpeg
qbS5ZSuR.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-05-14 à 10.49.32 AM
logo.png
Textured Full Logo.png
download-2.png
partenaire steven le hyaric urge
image_dtvision.png
Capture d’écran 2021-05-06 à 4.48.42 PM.
logo-grey.jpg

Patrons

unnamed.jpg

MEDIA partners

Unknown.png
Capture d’écran 2019-02-12 à 19_24_40_pn

The associations that I support

United Nations Children's Fund UNICEF Lo
ab645-black-jolly-roger-logo.png.webp
Unknown.jpeg

1500x500 (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2020-03-15 at 11.09.26.jp

LES CHIFFRES DU LAC BAÏKAL

500 km en 8 jours

C’est la plus grande réserve d’eau douce non gelée de la planète (20 %) abritant 2600 espèces animales et végétales. Il est inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco depuis 1996.

• Superficie : 31 722 km2, longueur : 636 kms et largeur : 80 kms.

• Le plus ancien lac : 25 millions d’années et le plus profond 1642 mètres.

• Volume d’eau : 23 000 km3 soit 260 fois le Lac Léman.

• Visibilité : jusqu’à 40 mètres de profondeur.

• Températures : entre -10°C et -30°C pendant la période hivernale.

• Îles : 22 îles dont la plus grande est l’île d’Olkhon.

• Population : 50 000 personnes vivent sur le bord du lac.

• Zone active : plus de 100 tremblements de terre tous les ans

Notre aventure

Stéven Le Hyaric et Perrine Fages se sont lancés juste avant le confinement dans la traversée à vélo du lac sibérien glacé. Magie et péripéties au royaume de sa majesté Baïkal.  Le duo rêvait d’accomplir ce périple sans assistance et en une huitaine de jours. Se fixer des objectifs de performance reste encore un réflexe chez ces deux sportifs.

Le lac Baïkal ne se laisse pas dompter. Mais les aventuriers n’ont jamais renoncé et ont effectué environ 500 kilomètres (sur les 636 prévus au départ) et ont trouvé l’aventure qu’ils venaient chercher.

Chaque année, pendant 5 à 6 mois, une épaisse couche de glace recouvre le lac et des fissures se dessinent sur sa surface brillante. Alchimie de matières et de lumières. « C’est surprenant le lac Baïkal. C’est l’aventure dans sa forme la plus pure. Il y a la glace, le froid. C’est puissant. On est isolés. Mais c’était un vrai privilège d’être sur ce lac » confie Stéven.

Son acolyte Perrine, qui accumule des performances dans plusieurs disciplines d’ultra-endurance (elle détient notamment le record féminin en triathlon extrême, l’Enduroman), apprécie les aventures « off ». Expatriée au Qatar depuis 5 ans, cette avocate apprécie les défis sportifs en tout genre, dans le désert, en montagne ou dans le froid, en courant ou sur son vélo.  À une seule condition : ne jamais être certaine d’arriver au bout de l’épreuve.

Cette jeune quadragénaire, qui effectuait son quatrième voyage en Russie, ne pouvait que tomber sous le charme du Baïkal. « Je conseille vraiment cet endroit. C’est beau, s’extasie-t-elle. Un matin, j’ouvre la tente : j’admire les montagnes, la couleur du ciel et sa réverbération sur le lac. C’était juste magnifique. Passer du temps sur le lac, apprendre, faire des erreurs voilà ce qu’on a vécu. Il faudra y retourner dans de meilleures conditions, avec moins de neige et ne pas avoir de contraintes de temps ». Le lac Baïkal séduit par sa beauté, son énergie et son atmosphère unique. Il fait la fierté des Russes. Il est l’objet de toutes les convoitises. Pourtant les aventuriers s’y mesurent assez rarement à vélo.

Dix ans après l’expérience d’ermite de Sylvain Tesson, le duo  se lance dans ce projet complètement givré. Après 2 aventures en haute altitude en 2019, les ultra-cyclistes ont envie de se frotter au grand froid. C’est Perrine qui suggère le projet à son ami. En pleine préparation de son projet 666 (traverser les 6 déserts les plus durs au monde, 6 continents, 6 mois à vélo), l’idée séduit immédiatement l’ancien coureur cycliste : découvrir la Russie, mesurer sa condition physique dans le froid et tester son matériel avant son expédition en Antarctique. La mission Baïkal naît. Perrine revient juste d’un ultra-trail en Laponie (la Rovaniemi 150) où contrariée par une blessure au genou, elle a dû abandonner. « J’ai adoré l’expérience et je voulais repartir dans le froid. Après je ne me voyais pas faire cette aventure seule. » Sur le lac Baïkal, la nature est rude. Chaque expédition est très engagée. Un voyage qui n’est jamais sans risques (les séracs, les fissures) ni sans peur. Optant pour un itinéraire du Nord vers le Sud, l’équipe se fait acheminer au bout du lac pour un départ matinal dès le lendemain. Pour les locaux, cet itinéraire n’est pas la meilleure option à cause de la neige. Comme un signal, dès le premier jour, les aventuriers font demi-tour pour choisir une meilleure trace.

Sur ce chemin, Stéven se fait percuté par une voiture. Il y a beaucoup de trafic sur cette partie du lac où l’on circule librement. Une grosse frayeur d’entrée de jeux ! Des dégâts matériels qui nécessitent un retour à l’hôtel à Severobaïkalsk. Un nouveau départ est pris cette fois côté droit du lac. Tous les jours, Stéven et Perrine se perdent, s’égarent à la recherche d’une trace parfaite qui n’existe pas. L’obstacle majeur est cette neige fraîche et abondante qui ralentit leur progression.

Les blocs de glace se mettent en travers de leur chemin. Côté matériel, Stéven a un fatbike (en aluminium) avec des pneus à clous traînant une pulka (traîneau de transport) avec un chargement très lourd. Pauline a choisi un VTT carbone ultra léger avec un équipement minimaliste. Des choix différents. « Physiquement, c’était plus engagé pour Stéven. Je pars de toujours très léger. Avec mon VTT, j’ai galéré dans la neige, c’était très fatiguant mais j’ai toujours cru à la réussite de notre défi. On savait que lorsqu’on atteindrait la glace, on pourrait enchaîner 300 kilomètres sans dormir.» Les conditions sont loin d’être idéales pour cette traversée à vélo. Le parcours est difficile et le plaisir absent. Les 2 cyclistes font demi-tour. Puis, il y a ce moment hors du temps où le duo e se réfugie dans la cabane d’un pêcheur qui leur offre l’hospitalité. Au départ, ils veulent faire une courte pause mais restent plus de 20 heures ! « Un moment incroyable, un moment de vie » se souvient Perrine.

L’aventure bascule. A cet instant, c’est une évidence : il faut avancer et sortir de cette neige. L’objectif de performance devient secondaire. Ils appellent alors les secours. « Il y a toujours du bon dans le renoncement » confie Stéven, déçu d’affronter son premier échec. Ils refusent d’abandonner en plein milieu du lac. Avec l’aide d’un véhicule, Ils avancent de 200 kilomètres jusqu’à l’île d’Olkhon. Les 2 derniers jours sont inoubliables avec de belles sensations sur glace malgré un vent très fort.

Les kilomètres défilent jusqu’au bout du lac dans une ambiance de fin d’aventure. Des tensions, des peurs, des émotions, il y en a eu beaucoup pendant ces 8 jours. De quoi renforcer encore un peu plus cette amitié qui les lie.

« À chaque aventure, on ne voit plus les choses de la même façon » J’aime aller vite sur un vélo, Perrine est plus dans la contemplation. On n’a pas les mêmes caractères. Elle est rigoureuse,  un peu plus dans le contrôle et moi je fonctionne davantage au feeling ».  On forme un duo complémentaire » souligne Stéven. Chacun trouve son histoire sur le lac Baïkal ou bien en commence une.

Stéven et Perrine ont très envie d’y retourner en se laissant plus de temps pour repartir dans de meilleures conditions et réussir ce défi en autonomie totale ! « Dès que je peux, je retente l’aventure. J’aurai ma revanche » promet Stéven. Le magnétisme du lac rattrape toujours ses aventuriers.

Source - MK Sport

ILS EN PARLENT :

STADE 2

DAKARACTU

INTERVIEW

LE PETIT JOURNAL

INTERVIEW

BFM TV

INTERVIEW

ULTRA TALK

PODCAST

Le Parisien

IL L'A FAIT !

SENEPLUS

L'EXPLOIT

FRANCE INFO

L'INSTANT T

LE PARISIEN

LE NOUVEAU

DÉFI FOU

BOURLINGUEZ

PODCAST

Le Figaro

INTERVIEW

KIRINAPOST

NEWS

EUROPE 1

INTERVIEW

FRANCE BLEU

RELIER PARIS À DAKAR

Mission baÏkal

Cette aventure Mission Baïkal est une introduction à une expédition de traversée de 6 déserts parmi les plus hostiles du Monde : le 666 Project. Le Baïkal ne fait pas partie des 6 déserts, il n'en est comme on le dit en alpinisme que "l'approche". Il en introduit une des valeurs clés : la désertification.

Le défi climatique est face à nous, impossible de se voiler la face. Le sens de ce projet, bien au-delà de son caractère inédit puisque ce sera une première mondiale, est de réveiller les consciences sur ce que l’humanité s’apprête à vivre du fait du dérèglement climatique : la désertification.

En allant à la rencontre et en traversant les déserts parmi les plus exigeants de la planète, chacun pourra s’apercevoir des changements en cours, à venir, des conséquences sur la nature et des effets sur le corps humain.

666 pour 6 déserts les plus durs du Monde sur 6 continents en 6 mois

6 déserts / 6 continents / 6 x 1 mois.

666 est aussi un clin d'oeil à ce que certains considèrent comme le nombre de l'enfer, de la bête. Un clin d'oeil pour m'engager à ma manière pour la planète et contre le dérèglement climatique qui est déjà bien avancé.

Montrer ce qu'est la vie dans les déserts et les difficultés de survie vont être le fil rouge de ce projet. Quoi de mieux pour un aventurier que de montrer et explorer la réalité du terrain pour en transmettre quelques fragments.​

partenaires officiels

LOGO 4 VERSION_Plan de travail 1.png
download.png
partenaire steven le hyaric compressport
partenaire steven le hyaric urge
36849.jpg
100.png
Garmin-logo.jpg
logo2016 copie.png
lookcycle-1200-630.jpg
Textured Full Logo.png
0.png
181-category_default.jpg
Capture d’écran 2019-02-20 à 21.17.25.pn
Oxybol-logonew2.jpg
download-2.png

partenaires MÉDIAS

download-2.jpg